Laserfiche WebLink
<br />LEEWARD PLANNING COMMISSION <br />01/16/19 <br />Purpose: To advise the Mayor, Council and Planning Director in all matters <br />concerning planning and land use matters; to review and make <br />recommendations regarding the General Plan, subdivision and <br />zoning ordinances and other planning rules and regulations; to <br />establish planning rules and regulations and to conduct public <br />hearings, with jurisdiction over the area consisting of the judicial <br />districts of North Kohala, South Kohala, North Kona, and South <br />Kona. <br /> <br />Authority: Hawaii County Charter, Section 6-7.5. <br /> <br />Appointment: Mayor with Council confirmation. Five year staggered <br />terms. <br /> <br />Full Membership: Seven members. Additionally, Director of Public Works and <br />Manager of Department of Water Supply, or their designated <br />representatives, serve as ex-officio members without power to <br />vote. <br /> <br />Specific Representation: One member from each of the judicial districts of North Kohala, <br />South Kohala, North Kona and South Kona and three “at-large” <br />members selected from these districts. Not more than two <br />members may be appointed from the same judicial district. <br /> <br />Requirements: Not more than four members shall belong to the same political <br />party. <br /> <br />Meetings: Regular meetings are held at least once a month on the Leeward <br />side of Hawai`i Island. Special meetings can be scheduled as <br />needed. <br /> <br />Financial Disclosure: Members must file Financial Disclosure within 20 working days <br />of taking the oath of office. Thereafter, annual disclosures must <br />be filed on or before January 31. The disclosures are <br />confidential and will be kept on file by the Board of Ethics. <br />County Code, Chapter 2, Section 2-91.1. <br /> <br />Reappointment: Following the expiration of a term, no member may be <br />reappointed for at least two years. However, members <br />appointed for a term of two years or less shall be eligible to <br />succeed themselves for an additional full term. <br /> <br />Qualities: Respected by the community as being community-minded and <br />oriented. Able to focus on the community needs as a whole <br />without catering to special or self-interest. <br /> <br />Current Members: Name, Term Expiration Date, and Judicial District <br /> CARR SMITH, Nancy (3/31/21) V. Chair At Large/S. Kohala <br /> CHURCH, Scott (12/31/19) At Large/N. Kona <br /> KEALOHA, Perry (12/31/20) N. Kona <br /> SHIMAOKA, Oliver (3/31/19) S. Kohala <br /> UNGER, Keith F. (3/31/20) Chair S. Kona <br /> VITOUSEK, Michael (3/31/23) At Large/S. Kona <br /> YATES, Faith (12/31/22) N. Kohala <br /> <br />Secretary/Contact person: Noriko Sauer 323-4783 <br /> <br />Attorney Assigned: Malia Ho Hall, Deputy Corporation Counsel <br /> <br />*The information on this sheet is condensed. For full information see appropriate <br />Sections of the County Charter, County Code and/or Hawaii Revised Statutes. <br /> <br />