Laserfiche WebLink
<br /> <br />KAILUA VILLAGE DESIGN COMMISSION <br />08/13/18 <br />Purpose: Within the Kailua Village Special District, to provide an <br />architectural and design review of application requiring plan <br />approval and all planned public and private improvements and <br />make recommendations to the Planning Director. Review sign <br />permit and variance applications and make recommendations to <br />the Director of the Department of Public Works. <br /> <br />Authority: Hawaii County Code, Sections 25-7-4, 3-53 and 3-57, as <br /> amended. <br /> <br />Appointment: Mayor with Council approval. Staggered terms of three years. <br /> <br />Full Membership: Nine members. <br /> <br />Specific Representation: Members must be representative of the Kona District. At least <br />five must have lived or worked in Kailua Village for a minimum of <br />two years prior to appointment. <br /> <br />Requirements: The commission members shall include two design professionals <br />(registered architects and/or landscape architects), two members <br />with backgrounds in building construction and/or engineering, <br />two members with knowledge about historic Kona, its cultural <br />values and resources, and the remaining three members <br />representing local business or property owners. <br /> <br />Meetings: Twice a month at 5:15 p.m., normally on Tuesday, in the West <br />Hawai‘i Civic Center, Planning Department Conference Room. <br /> <br />Financial Disclosure: Not required. <br /> <br />Reappointment: When the term of a member expires, he/she shall continue to <br />serve until his/her successor is appointed. Members initially <br />appointed for less than a year may be reappointed for an <br />additional full term without the passage of two years time. <br /> <br />Qualities: Respected by the community as being community-minded and <br />oriented. Able to focus on the community needs as a whole <br />without catering to special or self-interest. <br /> <br />Current Members: All members from Kona CD <br /> CHING, Bryant (12/31/18) 7 <br /> CRUSAT, Jasmine Victoria (12/31/19) 8 <br /> DAHLBERG, Peter (12/31/16*) Chair 7 <br /> HETHERINGTON, John (12/31/20) 7 <br /> IKEUCHI, Michaela (12/31/20) 7 <br /> KERN, Ann (12/31/18) 7 <br /> ROTH, Shaun (12/31/16*) Vice Chair 7 <br /> SULLENBERGER, Zon (12/31/15*) 7 <br /> VAN PERNIS, Mark (12/31/17*) 8 <br /> <br /> * Holdover until replaced <br /> <br />Secretary/Contact Person: Noriko Sauer 323-4783 <br /> <br />Attorney Assigned: Amy Self, Deputy Corporation Counsel <br /> <br />*The information on this sheet is condensed. For full information see appropriate <br />Sections of the County Charter, County Code and/or Hawaii Revised Statutes. <br /> <br />