Laserfiche WebLink
THIRD SUPPLEMENTARY EMERGENCY PROCLAMATION <br /> <br />WHEREAS, Chapter 127A Hawai'i Revised Statutes, provides for the <br />establishment of County organizations for emergency management and disaster relief <br />with the Mayor having direct responsibility and authority over emergency management <br />within the County; <br /> <br />WHEREAS, Chapter 127A Hawai'i Revised Statutes and Chapter 7, Articles 1 <br />and 2 of the Hawai'i County Code, establishes a Civil Defense Agency within the <br />County of Hawaii and prescribes its powers, duties, and responsibilities, and <br />Section 13-23 of the Hawai'i County Charter empowers the Mayor of the County to <br />declare emergencies; and <br /> <br />WHEREAS, on May 3, 2018, the Mayor of the County of Hawai'i and the <br />Governor of the State of Hawaii issued respective Emergency Proclamations declaring <br />states of emergency due to active lava erupting along the East Rift Zone in Lower Puna, <br />County and State of Hawaii; and <br /> <br />WHEREAS, on May 9, 2018, the Governor of the State of Hawai'i issued a <br />Supplementary Proclamation expanding the scope and application of his Proclamation <br />in order to provide further emergency disaster relief by suspending additional sections <br />of the Hawai'i Revised Statutes; and <br /> <br />WHEREAS, on May 22, 2018, the Mayor of the County of Hawaii issued a <br />Supplementary Emergency Proclamation suspending Hawaii County Code, Chapter 19, <br />Section 19-47, related to real property tax assessments to those parcels that suffered <br />uninhabitability or isolation due to this eruptive event in those areas described as Leilani <br />Estates, Lanipuna Gardens, Pohoiki Bay Estates and Kapoho Estates; and <br /> <br />WHEREAS, on May 30, 2018, the Mayor of the County of Hawaii issued a <br />Second Supplementary Emergency Proclamation suspending several County Code <br />provisions related to the preparation, set-up, construction, or installation of temporary <br />emergency shelters for residents displaced or voluntarily evacuated due the active lava <br />eruption; and <br />