Laserfiche WebLink
<br />PUBLIC ACCESS, OPEN SPACE, AND NATURAL RESOURCES <br />PRESERVATION COMMISSION <br />11/7/18 <br />Purpose: To develop an initial island-wide prioritized list of qualifying lands <br />worthy of preservation within six months of appointment of the <br />commission and submit it to the mayor. Priorities shall be listed <br />on an island-wide rather than district basis. The list shall include <br />the significance of each parcel or entitlement, identified the <br />reason for its priority, and its anticipated use after acquisition. <br />To update this list at any time, but at least annually by December <br />31 of each year. To explore methods of funding land acquisition <br />and make recommendations to the mayor. The commission <br />shall give emphasis to land acquisitions where the County’s <br />contribution can be leveraged to obtain State, Federal, and/or <br />private funds. <br /> <br />Authority: Hawai`i County Code, Chapter 2, Article 42. <br /> <br />Appointment: Mayor and confirmed by the Council. Commission members are <br />appointed to staggered terms of five years. <br /> <br />Full Membership: Nine members. <br /> <br />Specific Representation: One member from each County council district. <br /> <br />Requirements: No more than five members may belong officially to same <br />political party. <br /> <br />Meetings: No specific requirements. <br /> <br />Reappointment: No member shall be eligible for a second appointment to the <br />commission prior to the expiration of two years, provided that <br />members initially appointed for a term of one year and two years <br />shall be eligible to succeed themselves for an additional term. <br /> <br />Qualities: Respected by the community as being community-minded and <br />oriented. Able to focus on the community needs as a whole <br />without catering to special or self-interest. <br /> <br />Current Members: Name Term CD <br /> E. Koohan Paik Mander 12/31/22 1 <br /> Kai‘ena Bishaw II 12/31/19 2 <br /> Shelly Bee Allen Naungayan 12/31/18 3 <br /> Dr. Wayne Frank, Vice Chair 12/31/22 4 <br /> VACANT 12/31/18 5 <br /> Rick Warshauer 12/31/21 6 <br /> Cynthia S.H. Nazara 12/31/19 7 <br /> Kekaulike P. Tomich, Chair 12/31/20 8 <br /> Susan Wells Fischer 12/31/20 9 <br /> <br /> <br />Secretary/Contact person: Maxine Cutler – (808) 961-8069 <br /> <br /> <br />Attorney Assigned: Amy Self <br /> <br />*The information on this sheet is condensed. For full information, see appropriate <br />Sections of the County Charter, County Code and/or Hawai‘i Revised Statutes. <br /> <br /> <br />