Laserfiche WebLink
CULTURAL RESOURCES COMMISSION <br /> 08/04/21 <br /> Purpose: To advise and assist Federal, State and County government agencies in <br /> carrying out their historic preservation responsibilities; to initiate, accept, <br /> review and recommend to the State historic preservation officer, historic <br /> properties nominations for inclusion on the Hawai'i and National registers; <br /> to provide design review for projects affecting any building or structure, <br /> site or district eligible for listing on the National or Hawai'i register of <br /> historic places; to maintain a system for the survey, inventory and <br /> nomination of historic properties and archaeological sites within the <br /> County; and to administer the certified local government program of <br /> federal assistance for historic preservation within the County. <br /> Authority: Hawai'i County Code, Chapter 2, Article 44. <br /> Appointment: Mayor with Council confirmation. Five-year staggered terms. <br /> Full Membership: Nine members. <br /> Specific Representation: Representation shall be from the following professionals and persons with <br /> special interest in: architecture, history, archaeology, planning, <br /> architectural history, Hawaiian culture, traditional Native Hawaiian burial <br /> practices as practiced prior to foreign contact, and ethnic history and <br /> culture of Hawai'i County. <br /> Requirements: The Commission shall be comprised of members or different areas of the <br /> County who possess a knowledge and interest in local area history, and <br /> shall include at least one representative selected on the basis of that <br /> person's understanding of the culture, history, burial beliefs, customs, and <br /> practices of native Hawaiians. <br /> Meetings: Regular meetings are held at least once a month on either the windward <br /> or leeward side of Hawai'i Island. Special meetings can be scheduled as <br /> needed. <br /> Reappointment: Following the expiration of a term, no member may be reappointed for at <br /> least two years. However, members appointed for a term of two years or <br /> less shall be eligible to succeed themselves for an additional full term. <br /> Qualities: Commission members should have a demonstrated interest, competence <br /> and/or knowledge in historic preservation. <br /> Current Members: Name, Term Expiration (terms expire on December 31 of year indicated) <br /> AKAU, Alex (2021) <br /> CLARK, Matthew (2021) <br /> BELL, Geraldine (2022) <br /> SPIELMAN, Aaron (2022) <br /> HIRANO, Kilohana (2023) <br /> MAHONEY, Scott (2024) <br /> KURASHIMA, Natalie (2024) <br /> LUI, Nicole (2025) <br /> KEAKEALANI, Roberta Ku'ulei (2025) <br /> Secretary/Contact person: Kim Tanaka, 961-8141 <br /> Attorney Assigned: Jean Campbell, Corporation Counsel <br /> *The information on this sheet is condensed. For full information see appropriate sections of the <br /> Hawaii County Code. <br />